karma

It must be a (very early) Christmas miracle, because I’m actually on schedule this week.

For those of you who read my last blog post, prepare yourselves. For those of you who didn’t, well, you didn’t miss much. It was basically just a long complaint about the cold that, in hindsight, I probably shouldn’t have written, because I seem to have angered a weather deity.

Okay, if I thought that mid-October practice and last Saturday’s parade were freezing, this past week spawned from the ninth circle of hell.

Tuesday, I brought a fleece jacket and sweats to morning practice, feeling (truly unwarranted) pride in my readiness and foresight. Good job, Nicole, I remember thinking to myself. At least you learn from your mistakes.

Ha. Haha. Ha.

The second I stepped outside, my soul just, I don’t know, sort of iced over. I stood there, the wind slapping my face like you-slap-are-slap-an-slap-idiotmy teammates passing me in their three layers of sweatshirts and pajama pants.

An Actual Conversation

Girl: What’s wrong?
Me: *teeth chattering so hard I look like I’m maniacally biting the air* I’m only wearing the practice top underneath this jacket.
Girl: Did you, um, not think to bring one when you stepped out of your house?
Me: … I have zero life skills.
Girl: At least you’re honest. *walks off*

Later, someone told me it was in the 20’s. Fahrenheit, I mean.

So for playoffs on Friday, I resolved to have extra layers prepared way ahead of time. Only, of course, that didn’t happen, and I found myself struggling to squeeze my colossal head through black (we got to wear anything underneath our jackets as long as it was black) sweatshirts that were three sizes too small and haphazardly throwing leggings across the house at 1AM the day of.

I’ve lived as myself for seventeen years, and I still expected to be prepared way ahead of time? Really, I don’t understand what I was thinking.

Anyway, I ended up wearing six or seven top layers, four bottom, and two pairs of socks. And I spent the bus ride home Google searching “how to tell if frostbite” and trying to regain feeling in my toes.

As for the game: we lost. Our school’s out of the running, and I’m the happiest I’ve ever been.


2 thoughts on “karma

Leave a Reply

